PDA

View Full Version : August 9

vamos
10-08-2006, 03:31 PM
First trip report, :wave: from my second trip, if you follow.

Sadly no photos, but a very quick and (virtually) unplanned trip, there and back on the same day. I was working it out and given a 40 minute closure, the ratio of motorway driving to ring driving was 11 to 1. That seems a little too adverse, so probably will not repeat this format.

Was in the car park coffeed and ticketed up in time for the 5.15 opening, about the 15 th car out, but there was a lot of traffic and lots of complete beginners, and it was carnage out there. People driving slow, fast, undertaking, pulling over to the left to let you past on the right, all manner of craziness :blink:

Not surprisingly, while I was on my second lap, there was a closure, and then the heavens opened up and it rained and rained. And then it rained some more.

I caught a glimpse of Nigel in his black Mazda in the car park while waiting for the track to reopen, but by the time I made my way over he had packed up and left. As did virtually everyone else. Now, having driven 700 kilometers, I figured that two laps was a little underwhelming. So I went out in the rain, and actually had a great time. The track was empty (nearly) and the slippery surface was challenging me in all the right ways. Or so I thought until a bit of a moment halfway up Kesselchen had me travelling backwards at 140 km/h. :ph43r:

Well, the less said about that the better, a lucky escape sums it up. Kept lapping after that, but did slow down a bit :whistle: Seven laps in total to bring my total lap count to 31. Sure expected to keep my shield clean for longer. :shame:

Drive home long but uneventful. Bed at 3 am very welcome. :affection:

Tony
10-08-2006, 03:34 PM
A day trip.......... are you fooking mad??!!! :o :lol: And how the hell did you manage to spin on the Kesselchen - it's virtually straight :lol:

Good effort though :thumb:

T

vamos
10-08-2006, 03:44 PM